Undergraduate Microbiology Prizes

The prizes aim to encourage excellence in the study of microbiology by undergraduate students and to promote scholarship in, and awareness of, microbiology in universities. A prize will be awarded annually to the undergraduate student in each qualifying institution who performs best in microbiology in their second year of full time study (or part time equivalent) for a Bachelor's degree. Each winning student will be awarded £150, a certificate and one year's free undergraduate student membership of the SGM.

One prize will be available to each university in the UK and Republic of Ireland offering an appropriate microbiology course. The university will be asked to choose the assessed microbiological work for which the prize is awarded. Examples of appropriate work include: best written dissertation on a microbiological topic; best microbiology presentation; best examined microbiology module. The submission should be supported by formal marks, not an informal assessment. Winning students should have attained at least 2(I) overall in their degree examinations at the stage at which the award is made.

Eligible students may be registered for any degree with a significant microbiology content (e.g. Biotechnology, Applied Biology etc.), not just a BSc Microbiology. The university must decide which student group studying which microbiological activity is eligible for consideration. Usually this should remain the same from year to year, although a permanent change to the selection may be made if new courses develop.

52 Universities successfully nominated a student for the SGM Undergraduate Microbiology Prize in 2010.



Enquires to grants@sgm.ac.uk | 0118 988 1807

Download the scheme rules here

Download a nomination form here

A word version of the nomination form is also available here word

Nominations should be submitted by post to Grants Office, SGM, Marlborough House, Basingstoke Road, Spencers Wood, Reading RG7 1AG, email to grants@sgm.ac.uk or Fax to 0118 988 5656.

Closing date 26 August 2011.

Last modified 23 June 2011